Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

428EX or 460EX as an upgrade

earth titan

Hi folks.

I've been using my 314 for about 18 months now and really pleased with the results I can get with my 80mm APO, especially as an intro to mono CCD. The only drawback is the resolution. I always find the images are a little 'blocky' and I'm looking to upgrade toward the end of the year to overcome this issue. My main interest is in galaxies and clusters so resolution is important as I tend to magnify the pictures I get.

I'm sticking with Atik as I've been so impressed with connectivity, performance and the capture software, so I've got 2 options in mind. These are the 428EX and the 460EX. 

I'm tending toward the 460 (despite the expense) as I think it should give a wider field of view and the same resolution as the 428. This would overcome some of the issues I have currently, where some of the larger galaxies just don't quite fit in the FOV. I have however, seen some disappointing reviews of the 460 when compared to the 314.

I've been looking at the camera specs and they all use Sony sensors (which seem well regarded and certainly the 314 is brilliant) so I'm looking for some more informed opinions than mine and hopefully some experiences.

Q1

Does anyone have the sensor size for the 428EX? Atik seem to quote the size for the 460, but not the 428.

Q2

I'm guessing, based on the data I can find, that the resolution of the 428 and 460 will effectively be the same (image for image), with the 460 having a wider field of view. Is this correct?

Q3

Both cameras will give me better resolution than the current 314?

Q4

Any warts and all reviews of both out there?

Data found as follows:

Horizontal Resolution: 1392 pixels
Vertical Resolution: 1040 pixels
Pixel Size: 6.45 µM x 6.45 µM

428EX

Horizontal Resolution : 1932 pixels
Vertical Resolution : 1452 pixels
Pixel Size : 4.54x4.54 μm

460EX

CCD Image area : 12.49mm Horizontal x 9.99mm Vertical (15.97mm diagonal)