Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello from Deepest, Darkest (Not Really...) Ottawa

Tanglebones

Hello all. I'm very new to astronomy, though have wanted to get into it for many years. Alas, I never actually took the first step until very recently when I bought a fairly advanced mount and scope. Bucking traditional advice, to be sure, but I wanted something I would grow into rather than wish to sell a few months after obtaining.

I plan on astrophotography eventually, but not yet. First is a visual exploration and learning my way around the sky. I'll shortly be starting some informal certificate programs from the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (RASC) which should be an excellent way to begin my edu-ma-cation.

So - two weeks or so before the tools of my new hobby arrive. It is interesting to note that I'm still as impatient at 52 as I was at 22... :-)

- Stu

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome aboard Stu! What setup did you get?

Thank you, everyone, for the warm welcome.  

WRT my setup...well...this is going to sound insane, and I can hear echoes of my long-gone Glaswegian parents saying "Yer a bampot, son.  Ye've mair money than sense...".  I have not yet gazed through my first eyepiece but, in my defence, I have had many years of quiet pining to work this out.  I purchased an EQ8 mount, so I could get into some serious AP in a year or so, and finally settled on a Sky-Watcher BKP 300 DS scope, which I believe is the Explorer 300 PDS in the UK.