SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

HEQ5 GOTO Imaging Advice

Hello Everyone,

Forgive me for my ignorance but i'm new to Astronomy and have really been getting into the hobby over the last 6 months with my tiny 80mm refractor.

I can finally afford to upgrade my setup and will be getting the Skywatcher 200p with HEQ5 mount and the standard Skywatcher GOTO system at the end of the month. 

I would like to be able to start imaging some of the fascinating objects i've seen already, using my Canon 600d. I am wondering what sort of time subs i would be able to capture with my DSLR just using the standard HEQ5 with GOTO system? 

Do you think i would be able to capture over 30 second subs just using the GOTO system with proper polar alignment? 

Also any extra tips regarding Camera settings (ISO, exposure etc) for photographing both planets and DSO's through a telescope would be most welcome as i am completely new.

Thanks in advance to anyone contributing :) 

George

With good polar alignment you should get 60 seconds and more.

The concern is the use of a 200P, they are big and act somewhat like a sail. Any breeze will make it move and the image is blurred.

Which bit of Dorset?

Basically any clubs around you that may have a bunch of imager to go talk to.

The 200P is 1000mm focal length, that means that the mount has to track twice as good then if you used a refractor of 500mm focal length, and being a 200P it isn't light, so better tracking and drive system again, and again the wind.

I know a lot use the 200P but the imaging fraturnity use small scopes as said often a refractor.

Since you have mentioned nothing other then imaging it s simply a note that you are getting a good visual scope to go imaging with, not necessarily a good imaging scope to go imaging with.