Narrowband

Celestron NexStar 8 SE

Hello all,

Hope you are all doing great. Tonight is my first night on this website. It is also the first night that I attempted to use the Celestron NexStar 8 SE telecsope that I purchased yesterday. It was a total failure. After 3 attempts to allign the telescope it stated that it was aligned. I directed it to find Mars and it found something. It was something round that would not center. There was also something that looked like spiders moving around. I then directed the telescope to find Saturn and it pointed at my house. :embarrassed: I didn't know that I live on Saturn. I attempted to search for other objects but all I saw was a blank screen. Tomorrow night is another night and I will give it another shot. Hopefully things will get better tomorrow.

• Replies 68
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Bummedout, like you i am a bit of a novice and i dont have experience with the 8SE however i might be able to give some advice. The spiders that you are talking about sounds like you are not focussed on something, point it at something really bright or one of these spiders and adjust the focus until you get a sharp image. As for the 8SE pointing at your house, i suspect from where you were standing your house was roughly to your East? Saturn hit the horizon at roughly 4:15 your time (i picked Chicago as your location as it says Midwest on your profile) and depending on your surroundings it probably wasnt up in the sky until a fair bit after that, what time did you ask it to point to Saturn? To find out this info i used a program called Stellarium which might be worthwhile you downloading, it really helps you get a better understanding of whats up there and prior to going out i have started planning my nights with it.