Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Hello from Alberta

ultraQuiche

Hello everyone,

I am an engineering student based in Fort McMurray, AB. I am new to astronomy, but am keen on taking up some backyard astronomy at the conclusion of this very intense academic year.

My other interests include writing/recording/listening to music, collecting fountain and dip pens, and calligraphy etc. Interestingly enough, I have definitely found myself a home in Engineering.

So I expect to buy a telescope this summer, and I have what seems to me to be a pretty solid plan: get a non-computerized Orion Sirius mount (because I can get it bundled with a wide range of Orion telescopes), with something on it. That is where I am a little confused. I am thinking of either a bigger [8''?] Newtonian for the BFB factor, or a good small doublet APO. Smaller SCTs are not out of the question as they seem to be a nice compromise between aperture and portability. I have done tons of research, and my lead prof is an astronomy PhD. Maybe this is not the right subforum for telescope selection, if so, please do move this thread.

I live in one extremity of my small city. Most of the people in my neigbourhood turn their lights off at night, and I have a very open view of the night sky. There is a streetlight at the front of my house (not visible from my potential viewing location), and some straight ahead in the distance. I wouldn't have to drive too far to get to a really dark site, but I want to just work from my backyard in the beginning.

Back to the plan - get a stripped-down, telescope-and mount rig, get a feel and appreciation for visual observing, then start thinking about AP. That is the ultimate goal, but I want to first have my fun with observing.

I would appreciate everybody's input, especially about the telescope. 

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi and a warm welcome to SGL. You seem as if you have a  nice dark site there and that's always a plus.