Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Dear all,

Back last week I attempted to have a go at starscapes given that I know of a fairly good darkish area. The stars looked pin sharp in the individual light photos but after running them through DSS they have turned out quite blobby. I've played around in CS5 (I'm a complete amateur in Photoshop) and now I'm left with (in my mind) a semi reasonable image. 

The equipment:

Nikon D3200

50mm (prime) at 1.8

8sec exposure

ISO3200

I'd taken 30 odd lights and about 15 darks.

I've run the photos through a high pass filter, changed them to black and white and played with curves.

Here are the photos:

Orion

13567199423_bd04f01229.jpg

Starscape

13567118965_7a874e3dc0.jpg

How can I get 'pin' sharp stars (as after all, they were sharp in the individual flat files)?

Secondly, the Starscape could do with improvement. Next time I think I'll create a new layer and add a shot of the trees in so that they too are sharp.

All advice is welcome!

Thanks,

James

looks like a bit of shake on some of the brighter stars on the Orion picture

and possibly check each frame for anything badly out as one bad image can mess up a stack

I never realised that. To be honest, I may have been expecting a bit much out of DSS. I thought that it would 'think' to itself that something was a bit out of the ordinary and bin the image. I'll remember that for next time!

I had something similar happen
turned out 4 frames had very bad wind shake that was causing the problem
I think you can make it more selective by reducing the picture % used, DSS defaults to 90% I think so it drops 1 in 10 frames

I had something similar happen

turned out 4 frames had very bad wind shake that was causing the problem

I think you can make it more selective by reducing the picture % used, DSS defaults to 90% I think so it drops 1 in 10 frames