Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Suggestions for a large DSO imaging telescope please...

Andrew INT

I have been imaging with a DSLR and webcam through my F5 8" newt for about eight years now. It is about time I started updating my setup since I really want to bet more involved in DSO imaging, with a bit of planetary thrown in.

Currently using an HEQ5 mount, I have my heart set in a Mesu 200. With a bit of an apature craving, I was looking at the 14 inch edge hd. However my comfort zone is the newt, an I have no experience of issues such as mirror flop.

My budget will also allow for a CCD, but Im really not sure if this is the best scope for the job. The setup will be inside an observatory that can take upto 16 inches. I can spend about 6 to 8 k on the scope.

Any pointers greatfully received!

Cheers,

Andrew

With your budget you have lots of options. A couple things to help narrow down the field: 

1). Why are you wanting large aperture? Are you wanting it for the actual size of aperture or for the long focal lengths that come with it? Remeber for DSO imaging aperture isn't king here like it would be for plantary or visual. So don't choose a scope just because it has a large aperture. Though with that said if you have very good skys where your obsy is aperture can help with resolution but to stress you skies need to be top notch for this to come into play. Most peoples skies are good enough so there are other factors you should consider.

2). What are you wanting to image? Nebula or galaxies? Wide field, mid range or long FL AP? With nebula your driving factor will be the fast f/ratio and for galaxies it's more about FL. Depending on your FL preference you have plenty to choose from.