Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

2x Barlow question

Hi everyone! :hello:

This is my first post so be nice haha!

I've recently bought my first ever telescope, Skywatcher Heritage, and although it came with 2 standard eye pieces, in preparation I bought a 2x Barlow and a moon filter.

I only bought cheap ones because I'm very new to the world of telescopes and didn't want to pay too much in case I inadvertently did something wrong, like buy the wrong size or something! So I had a look on ebay and got them from there.

Now, I haven't used the moon filter yet but with the 2x Barlow, it doesnt seem to focus with my scope.

I re-focus when putting a new eye piece in and refocus again when I put the Barlow in but my focus thingy on the telescope tightens all the way and it's just not quite enough to focus fully with the Barlow.

I was wondering if this is just because its a cheap one and if I pay for a decent one it will work better? I didnt want to go out and buy a more expensive one just for the same thing to happen.

I have litterally got the scope out of the box and started so I haven't messed with anything other than getting the red dot finder sorted. The eye pieces I have are a 25mm and a 10mm.

Many thanks

Bexidoodle

Hi Bex. I have a Heritage also and a 2x barlow. It could be that the barlow is a dud (it happens), or it could be that it needs to be inserted into the focuser a bit less then when fully inserted. Before tightening the locking screw on the focuser, try manually moving the barlow+lens out a bit towards you and keep doing this at various distances to see if anything focuses. If it does then lock the screw to hold the barlow in. What make of barlow is it?

It might work. 

Paul.

Hi Paul

Thanks, I'll try that.

Actually, I think it's that cheap it doesnt even have a make!!

It doesn't say anything on it and the ebay listing just say it's standard, I did check the reviews and they were favourable.