SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

I need help to achieve focus

Hi all.

I'm pretty new to all this, so need some advice as google didn't answer my questions (possibly asked wrong questions)

I have a Saxon 1309 EQMS http://www.saxon.com.au/products/product-details.php?productid=10222 and also bought a Micsrosoft Lifecam HD-3000 http://www.microsoft.com/hardware/en-au/p/lifecam-hd-3000 which i modified with a webcam lens to telescope adapter, in order to try photograph the planets and moon.

The problem i'm having is that i can not achieve a sharp focus. The object will come into focus as i wind in the focuser, but is by no means a sharp focus, and if i keep winding in it will go completely out of focus.

So i am achieving a kind of focus before the focuser bottoms out, its just that the object is blurry still, maybe 70% focused.

Any tips or advice would be appreciated as my images are coming out blurry.

Sounds like you might not have enough travel in the focus tube. Some Newts like yours are not really made for prime focus imaging and you may have to move the primary mirror forward. You can find your exact prime focus point by removing the focuser and holding the camera over the hole while moving it back and forth. It's really a good idea to use the moon when doing this. When you find focus you will see where it does and if it is within the travel of your focus tube or not. Another thing to keep in mind is that most primary mirrors on these types of scopes are usually parabolic and curved. The middle of the mirror will be sharper than the edges. Thats why when using a Newt type scope taking pictures one must use a coma corrector with them to get the most usable sharp coma free area in your pictures.

Sounds like you might not have enough travel in the focus tube.