Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi All

spudicus

Welcome to the Forum spudicus i hope you find this a friendly and helpfull forum :) .

Good luck on getting out with your new scope, the scope you have looks really nice and should give you some wonderfull views of the Night Sky.

Turn left at Orion is a great book and should serve you well out in th field with your scope.

Looking forward to your future post's.

Regards

James :)

Hi All,

I am totally new to Astronomy and after lots of research, reading reviews etc, I have just purchased a 5 inch refractor from http://www.skysthelimit.org.uk/

I also recently bought the book Turn left at Orion, so come the first clear night I'll venture out and let you know how it goes!

Laters

Hi,

Same scope as I bought! I'm pretty impressed with it. Did you get the mount with it? I got the scope only.

As russ has said, if I can be of any help please just ask.

Gaz

Gaz, have you had a chance to use the 127 much?

I noticed there was a tube only going on Ebay last week, also the 8" Newt. I don't think they went for much.

He also had the EQ5 only on Ebay. That finished yesterday, went for £74.

Russ

russ,

Yes, I've got the scope out about half a dozen times, I did notice a litttle CA on Arcturus but nothing much and certainly a lot less than my Helios, I may change the focusser, it's not actually bad it's just that my refector had got a Crayford and it's kind of spoiled me! Other than that I'm still very pleased with it. I've got the EQ6 extension bar on order at Sherwoods, the EP level is a bit low esp. with most of the good summer targets being pretty high in the sky.

I saw the EQ5 (the one that needed repairing?), I was going to bid but set myself a limit of £50.

I'd been folowing the 127mm for a few weeks before i bought, they seemed t be going for around £240-£280 with the mount.

Spud,