Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Moon with De-Bayered PS3 Eye Cam

Kbramley

Finally the obsy is complete and its a clear night, been waiting 3 months for this.

Anyhow way back in september last year I set about de-bayering a PS3 Eye cam, which I managed successfully, the bonus being this webcam can deliver the raw sensor info using the diver developed here - http://codelaboratories.com/ it also alowed up to 85FPS at 640x480 - another bonus. I had to write my own capture software to get it to save the raw data which was a challenge as I'm not a programmer so had to learn it on the fly, which involved quite a few long frustrating nights - but it was cloudy so no loss there :).

Here is the results of the first test run, I pointed it at the moon and shot 1200frames at 60FPS through a red filter, then processed in Registax and stacked the best 300. Im very impressed with this little cam and glad the hard work paid off, and to think it only cost £7 off Ebay :)

Scope - MN190

2x Barlow

De-Bayered PS3 Eye cam

Homebrew Capture software

300 frames stacked from 1200 60FPS

Enjoy

Keith

post-17161-0-85791800-1394492510_thumb.j

That looks like an excellent result to me.

I have the same camera that I butchered but found not great for colour planetary imaging.  I'm tempted to dig it out and see if it works on Linux now.  If so I can use it with my own capture application and I'll think about stripping off the CFA.  Did you write anything up about that at all?

James

Can you explain how you debayered it and are you willing to share the programme?

The process was reasonably easy, Summarised here with a few pics.

1) Firstly open up the PS3 Eye cam - search google for this as there are some excellent guides on how to do it - heres one http://nuigroup.com/forums/viewthread/4189/

2) Remove the Lens to reveal the sensor

3) With a sharp knife, gently prise the cover glass off, it can stick a bit, but if your patient it should pop off in one