Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Am I thick or Just unlucky ? help

Hi guys, now i don't think I'm really thick, but I admit sometime it takes a while to sink in, Now I'm a newbie and as such

I went and bought a CPC 800 edge hd scope , and a celestron starsense, so far so good I'v had some great viewing

but tonight i thought i would use the Starsense to Auto align , I turned it on and it did its thing, then when it had finished 

i pressed the button to go to the moon, it went very close then i had to calibrate it by using the hand control,

but no matter what i did it would not auto align and yes i did follow the instructions in the manual but no joy so can anyone of you 

very experienced guys help me please.

regards

david

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You are not alone.

The starsense software is currently inaccurate on solar system objects - this is a known bug in the HC software (the algorithm for calculating planet & moon position).

I have the starsense and I also get inaccurate results on all planets and the moon (at least the moon is big and easy to make the manual final adjustment)

They will make a fix for this minor issue once they fix all the more major EQ mount issues.

Alan

Lol - hope you didn't buy it for planetary observing! :p

Seriously - is that true? it doesn't goto anything in our own solar system? That's not fit for purpose to my mind. Is their MD the guy with the curly red hair and big red nose and huge feet... oh no sorry, that's Ronald McDonald. Golden Arches not Golden Ar**s.

I shouldn't post when I've been on the cognac but it just tickled me when a goto that doesn't goto becomes a minor issue. Us astronomers are such a tolerant bunch.