sgl_imaging_challenge_2021_annual.thumb.jpg.3fc34f695a81b16210333189a3162ac7.jpg

Hi all,

I have a 6-inch Newtonian reflector with equatorial mount but would like something with a bit more magnifying power. I can never get to grips with focal length versus mag and light collection etc etc, so will need some help. Yes, I'm still a beginner and I know I shouldn't move up yet, but I've been so frustrated with my current scope.

Can anyone suggest a good all-round 8 or 10 inch, motorised, pref with go-to. I have dyspraxia so find it hard to locate objects when the image is upside down and swings the opposite way from where I move the scope, so a go-to would be helpful!

My requirements: my interest is in both planets and deep sky objects. I would like eventually to take pics. It would be good if the scope and tripod are not too heavy as it would need to be transportable, but also stable.

Am I asking too much?!!

Alex

Howdy Astrosurf,

you say you are not getting on with your current scope, can you be a bit more specific? Oh, and what is your current scope? And if you really want to get a bigger scope what would your budget be?

re focal length, the longer the F ratio then the higher the mag you will get with any given EP, so a 10mm EP in an F5 scope will give lower mag than the 10mm EP in an F15. So for planetary viewing you are generally better with a londer F ratio scope as you get higher mag. For DSO's you are better with shorter F ratio scopes as they generally have a wider field of view and can therefor show you a bigger area of the sky.

As for a good value all-rounder, you could do a lot worse than one of these......

http://www.celestron.uk.com/catalogues/view_item.asp?ItemID=30877&CatalogueID=272&CategoryID=3812

or, if you wanted to spread your costs then you could get one of these.......