SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

viewing complete constellations

Jonesee

Please can someone advise me on what eyepiece to view complete constellations I have a Celestron astromaster 130 eq with a 10mm and a 25mm but dont seem to view all of the constellation in my ep only part do I need a different size lens

You'll not be able to  reach that kind of field of view in a scope, or even a finder scope in most cases, constellations span too much sky for that.  You can install stellarium on a PC, and setup your eyepieces and telescope in that software and have play around with it. You will see the sky projected as a grid divided into measure of angle, that way you'll get a feel for the number of degrees involved when you look through the eyepiece versus the size of an actual constellation. Stellarium also has what are called telrad projector rings which represent 0.5, 2 and 4 degrees in size that you can move around against the sky. 

Download here

http://www.stellarium.org/

and a video how to get it all configured here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n_KnCxm98eI

HTH :smiley:

For ease you might want to think about some binoculars. You will be surprised how much you can see.

The other night whilst the scope was piggy backing my camera taking pics, I used the bins and found Andromeda very quickly, By far much easier than I did with the scope.

The other added advantage is that with a set of 10x50 they can be hand held, tripod mounted if you want (which I do both) and can be used for normal day time use.

Even with my bins I can't get the whole plough in, only the main basin and maybe a little more.

As others have said, Stellarium is invaluable.