Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Eyepiece for Sky Watcher Sky Max 127 Mak

Hi, I'm new here so apologies as I know this has been covered, but I'm wondering if someone could give me a pretty basic answer to the above question. I'm a beginner, I got my scope in October. It cam with 10 and 25 mm eyepieces. I have heard people say that the 10 is not very good but the 25 is passable? I have nothing to compare it to so I wouldn't know. Only dimly aware of what I was doing I then bought a Vixen 8mm eyepiece and a moon filter. Only got to use it once on Jupiter before the bad weather but was a tad disappointed (probably wasn't doing something quite right). Anyway, if I were to invest in say two more eyepieces for under £100 what should they be? Also, at the risk of incurring the wrath of the knowledgable, what is a plossl and do I need one ???

Half suspect that the 8mm was too much power for the scope, you would be close to 187x and that is not going to be usable too often.

The 12mm and 15mm BST Starguider should be a better option if you wanted magnification. If you were not overly bothered then the 15mm and the 18mm.

The 15mm will give 100x and that is OK for Jupiter maybe a bit more for Saturn,.hence the 12mm giving 125x

When Mars becomes a convenient object with regards time then you may have to try the 8mm again.

Hi Inky, and welcome to SGL.

I have the same scope, and I had the same issues with mine. The 25mm is useful as it's a long eye relief EP, but neither that nor the 10mm are all that good, and I no longer use either of them. I got the Revelation set, five plossls for just over £100, and while that may not have been the best thing to do, they're still better than the stock EPs that came with the Skymax. My C9.25 came with a Celestron 25mm plossl, which far surpasses the Skywatcher one.