Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First timer Jupiter & Io

Paul81

OK.. So what is wrong with the Universe.. I only ordered a ASI120mm the other day, and it (and the 4x powermate) only turned up today and so I found myself in the ridiculous situation of new toys and clear skies.. I am still stunned!

Anyhow, a complete newbie planetary imager I have great fun capturing the King tonight. I originally started out with the 4x powermate but decided the conditions maybe didn't quite suit (or didn't suit my skill, one of the two) so in the end I went down to 2x. I also played with lots of different exposures, gain, and frame rates during capture (using FireCapture). I used the VX10 for capture (so F9.6 at 2x).

It eventually clouded over about an hour or so later, and my HDD was starting to strain with the gigabytes of data I had captured so I came in and read some quick tutorials on processing and so here are the results of a whirlwind first stab:

post-9673-0-34899400-1393021121_thumb.pn

post-9673-0-63686800-1393021128_thumb.pn

I definitely want to work on better focusing techniques, and it was a chore to initially get the target on the chip, especially at 4x. In the end I used my 21mm Ethos to get the planet approx in the middle and then switched to a 12mm alignment eyepiece. I then centred the planet and swapped in the ASI and focused, which is tricky when any vibration is super amplified. I can see why people invest in electric focusers. The mount behaved very well though and it was in AltAz mode.

I used PIPP to preprocess the raw AVIs to remove the rubbish frames. I think the 1024x768 at 50FPS have come out best. The 640x480 image was captured at 100FPS. Might just have been the steadier conditions at the time, but I played more with exposure and lowering gain with the 1024x768 captures.