Narrowband

Focusing issue

Hi,  I have an astromaster 130eq, the focus wheel seems a bit sticky and when using a higher powered ep like a 8mm when turning the focus wheel in one direction to the other direction the image I a trying to focus on moves across the view in the ep, even when the focus wheel is moved very slowly. Hope what I've stated makes sense and is this normal?

thanks

Tim

Mine is quite solid, don't know about stiff but certainly not all loose.

What you may find about your object moving across the EP, especially an 8mm is that the earth is rotating at 0.25 degrees every minute. The 20mm EP is 1 deg FOV and the 10mm is 0.5 deg FOV so the 8mm will be slightly less.

Also what you may find is that as you try and focus is that you are actually moving the scope itself, this will be far worse with the higher mag EP.

Hi Tim, not quite sure, but you may be describing 'slop' in the focuser tube.  Can the focus tube be 'waggled' around when you hold it ?

That could cause the image in the focuser to shift as you turn the focus wheel.

You may find that any slop can be adjusted out (or greatly lessened) by some careful DIY.  

Go very carefully if not sure. Cleaning out the old grease and tiny amounts of good quality new grease may help.

Apologies if I've misunderstood what you are saying.

Hope you sort it, Ed.

It is rack and pinion focuser?

Focuser tube is a bit wobbly in the housing?

When you reverse the direction of rotation of the handwheel, the focuser tube changes it's angle slightly - hence the movement in the eyepiece.

Had similar problem in another scope with worn r&p focuser.

Thanks all for your psts

NGC 1502, think you've hit the nail on the head. the focus tube does wobble a littleand the issue i am having (the way the object is moving in the ep) would be explained by this. Sorry to be a pain but you referred to some careful DIY, does this involve taking the focus tube off? Is there anywere will a description on how to do this.