SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

2" Filters that don't break the bank

DRT

I am in the process of upgrading my EPs. My plan is to have a mix of good quality 1.25' and 2" and I have started by pulling the trigger on a Pentax 10mm XW and Baader Hyperion-Aspheric 31mm and Hyperion 8mm-24mm Zoom.

All of the filters I currently have are budget stuff but I want to buy Moon, Nebula and Light-Polution 2" filters without breaking the bank.

I am attracted to the Baader range, but those will prevent me buying my next Pentax EP. Are there any other (cheaper) ranges I should be looking at or would I simply be putting cheap glass in front of expensive glass and wasting the money I am spending on the EPs?

I'm no expert on this, DRT and really just figuring from my heart which says to me that before forking out on filters, I'd prefer to get out to a dark site. This would be the cornerstone of doing some wicked nebulae viewing. I've also found that nebulae generally prefer larger exit pupils (5mm) which isn't always that useful in LP sites. It would only be after a decent run on a dark site that I would start looking into filters, figuring out what type I needed from the kind of nebulae I enjoyed viewing. I do have a UHC-S filter which I have found useful on occassion, but I truely feel nothing beats dark skies. Other than that O-III filters are said to be useful but are probably a little more aggressive (dimmer image) than the UHCs.