Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Eyepiece holder that fits the MS Life Cam Cinema

Hi Everyone, I'm a beginner and I have a lifecam cinema hd and wish to modify it for planetary imaging and then guiding once I've got started and some experience under my belt I may upgrade to a purpose built webcam.

I've read a few forums and found many people reccomend one from billet parts however they don't seem to supply anymore. I've seen some standard looking webcam holders that say they fit the spc900 and there is one on eBay that boasts fitting any webcam.

Is there anyone out there who is already using this webcam and could you point me in the right place to look for a holder.

Also I keep reading references to a Gary Honis step by step guide but his website never seems to be up and working. http://ghonis2.ho8.com

Any tips on modification will be appreciated too.

Thanks I love these forums!

Andy

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm guessing it must be like most webcams. You need to remove the lens and I know with the xBox one I have there was a small filter sitting above the chip which was held in place on the filter thread that the lens was in. I removed that and put the thread holder back in to use for an adapter into the EP. I also had to destroy 4 LEDs on the board with a pair of small pliers.

I bought the xBox cam for under £5 new delivered off eBay. If you don't want to risk the lifecam then perhaps a cheap purchase may be best first.

As far as I am aware most webcams have the small 12mm thread. You should be able to unscrew the lens and at least check the thread size.

A lot of people also make their own holder,

Below is my webcam with the 12mm to 1,25" EP holder £14.99 of eBay.

post-34707-0-15358200-1391896237_thumb.j

Hi Andy,

Sorry about my old website going down.  The webhosting company went out of business.  I have my website back up permanently using GoDaddy.  My website is GaryHonis.com.