SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

telescope newbie

Chast

Hi,

New to stargazing with a telescope, although i have been gazing at the night sky for more than 30 years on and off.

Got a small 3 inch reflector (National Geographic) as an unexpected Xmas pressie and have been blown away with what i can see, despite the depressingly low number of clear nights since then. I am already thinking of upgrading to a beefier scope. I was thinking of the Skywatcher 200P as it seems to be a popular choice and gets good write ups. My ultimate aim is to get into astrophotography (already into photography) however budget dictates that i go for the OTA own its own and build a dob mount myself in the first instance. I know that a driven EQ mount would be preferable for photography.

Any thoughts or advice would be welcome.

Located in West of Scotland.

Cheers.

Hi mate and welcome to SGL :)

The 200p is a fantastic scope and even stock on the eq5 can be used for basic planetary and lunar AP. Check out my flickr link in my signature to see what a noob can do with that setup :)

All my pics are taken using the stock eyepieces and Barlow that came with the scope and my DSLR.

For deep space photography you definitely need a driven mount but you can still do planetary and lunar AP with a manual mount or a dobsonion it just takes patience and a bit of effort.

Hello and welcome to SGL. You say that you are already into photography so i assume you have got a DSLR. So why not concentrate on getting a half decent mount with your money and look at widefield astrophotography to begin with. Then as money permits look at getting a decent OTA.