Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

EQ slow motion controls

Fatrick

Hi, just wondering what way you guys work your slow motion controls. I'm new to this telescope business, but in my brief time operating my Eq3-2 mount I find that the slow motion controls don't always, or ever, sit very handy to my viewing position. I notice that you can attach the controls to both sides of each of the axis mounts. So do you move the controls about side to side during viewing to make life more comfortable? Do you buy 2 extra controls and always have the 4 mounted? Or do you just make do with awkward positions they get into?

I think the fact I use a 900mm frac doesn't help my cause, even tho I do have long arms. I'm sure a nice short newt would be handier.

The longer one does flex to the side a bit so shouldn't be too difficult to reach (until you let go of it of course). The shorter one is slightly stiffer but still bends - I replaced my short one with a "push on knob" (or you can get them with a collar screw) for easier access to the RA axis. But really there's not a lot in it.

You can replace the shorter one with a long one but you'd have to buy two together. For the minor inconvenience I don't really think it's much of an issue (I had a Newtonian on mine) but I can see what you mean when you're at one end of a long 'ish frac - so two long ones might be a little better for you. :)

You are obviously suggesting that I move the slo-mo controls from one side to the other so as they are pointing more of less where I'm observing from. From what little observing I've done so far this would be a bit of a faff. At the moment its very much observe between the clouds so I'm changing targets quite frequently to dodge the overhead conditions. I guess if you were observing one target for at least 30 mins at a time then changing the controls would make sense, but I'm not sure how much that would happen in N. Ireland at the moment :) Obviously, that would be the goal.