SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Light Pollution??

ObnoX

Hi, total beginners question...

How far away from the city lights/street lights would you get a better view of the sky? 

Where I live, there are stretches of farmers fields in between towns, maybe 2-3 miles. Would standing in the middle of these fields make much difference or are we looking for complete countryside here?

Cheers.

Basically the darker the better. I find if I can see the Milky Way clearly then that's a good dark site indicator. But you have to factor in how far you are prepared to travel, site suitability/safety and transport of your kit. You want to try and lose as much of that city/town street light orange glow as possible. Of course, just as important is maintaining your eyes dark adaptation once you are there. So use a red filtered torch and avoid car headlights etc.

I live on the edge of town myself and looking towards the town gives a terrible orange glow to the sky, however looking out towards the countryside gives me some pretty decent darkness. Being out in the middle of one of these fields and looking towards sky that is away from the towns should surely give some reasonable views for you.

It is hard to find a nice dark site since atmospheric moisture (haze) does wonders in reflecting even distant LP from cities many km. away. At least try to find a location like those dark fields where you can see (even barely) all the stars of the Little Dipper (Ursa Minor). That should be a very good site to concentrate on, though the seeing may change from night to night due to atmospheric moisture.

BTW, that link is nice - I live in an red-orange zone and travel 30 miles to a zone with yellow (it produces skies down to 5.5 to 5.9 mag.), so look for at least a yellow area.

Even in a town etc. if you can shelter yourself from the street lights it's surprising on how much more you can see above you.