SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hello from NE Cambs/SW Norfolk area

Andy Milner

Hi All,

I'm very new to Astronomy and have been lurking on this forum and others reading and soaking up lots and lots of information to help me decide on what Telescope and Mount to buy. I recently bought a telescope without much thought back in October ( Celestron 114 LCM ) This however suffered vibrations easily but I enjoyed using it for viewing Jupiter and managed a few photos just holding up my iPhone to the eye piece capturing Jupiter and the 4 moons. This excited me so much, until the finderscope stopped working and the hand control lcd display went wrong. I have taken the scope back for a refund.

I now plan on buying a new Skywatcher scope primarily for DSO Imagery and Planetry fun.

I'm seriously contemplating a Skywatcher 150P - DS with either a EQ5 goto or HEQ5 goto Mount. This will be my first serious scope, however I really find the cost of the HEQ5 goto Mount off putting at around £700. However I do know from reading lots, that the Mount is so important, so will take more time over making my decision. I may have to go for the EQ5 goto and maybe upgrade lateron.  

I look forward to engaging with you all more and digesting info to make my purchase soon.

Thanks,

Andy

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome to SGL..good choice and good thinking. Skywatcher get good reviews for their OTA's and mounts.

I have the EQ5 and it is a good solid mount but of course its payload is restricted, you could look around at the 2nd hand market for a mount.

I will be moving to Ely in May...