Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Any good books to help?

Hello everyone,

As I'm new to astronomy and still learning a lot about the stars, planets etc...also still trying to get the hang of my new telescope, I've read a book called " a little course in astronomy" which I enjoyed reading and learning so much it was done with in a few days :) would any one recommend any books, apps for phones etc?

Thanks

Jade :D

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi there. A book called 'Turn left at Orion' is probably your best bet. It's aimed at people with little or no experience. Excellent book.

Ally

I also want to get a book suitable for beginners, so I'm going to take your word for it and get it from Amazon. 

- Practical Astronomy by Storm Dunlop http://www.amazon.co...ds=storm dunlop

- The One Minute Astronomer - http://www.amazon.co...nute astronomer

- Astronomy for Dummies by Stephen Maran - http://www.amazon.co...ing for dummies

- Star Watch by Philip Harrington - http://www.amazon.co...ilip harrington

- How It Began by Chris Impey - http://www.amazon.co...rds=chris impey

- Universe: The definitive visual guide - http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/1409376508/ref=s9_simh_bw_p14_d0_i2?pf_rd_m=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE&pf_rd_s=center-3&pf_rd_r=0VDSPR509J1CH5Z5DFXA&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=365324827&pf_rd_i=266239

I highly recommend these to you. You can often pick these up quite cheap on Amazon for Kindle....

Hi Jade and Welcome,

A must book for the beginner and oldie alike, is Turn Left at Orion. Any books by Sir Patrick Moore are well worth the read.

As for apps. I'm new to tablets, but have found SkEye and Night Sky Tools both good android apps. For PC and laptop, Stellarium is worth installing.