Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Advice for a new Scope..

Im looking to upgrade my current setup (which is poor at best) with a Skywatcher Explorer  200p + Eq5 mount kit, seen it for about £400. Would this be a good setup to buy ? im new to Astronomy so not really sure which is the best things to buy yet for my £400 - 450 budget, Any help or advice would be appreciated, .Thankyou

Bazz. 

Thanks for the Reply....  Firstly i want to use it for visual astronomy, moving onto astro photography, im already a keen photographer and have some camera gear , my current setup is a Bresser Skylux 700mm with  a wobbly mount, hence the need to upgrade, after getting limited use with this equipment i know i have enjoyed what ive seen but now want better optics and steady mount.. 

Bazz

Can you give us a little more info on what your constraints and goals are? Also, are there any specific reasons you want the equatorial mount?

Basically, the mount comes with the Telescope that i have seen which falls within my budget, but really im open to suggestion as im still really a learner in this field ?  

Bazz

Thanks for the Reply....  Firstly i want to use it for visual astronomy, moving onto astro photography, im already a keen photographer and have some camera gear , my current setup is a Bresser Skylux 700mm with  a wobbly mount, hence the need to upgrade, after getting limited use with this equipment i know i have enjoyed what ive seen but now want better optics and steady mount.. 

Bazz

I'm assuming that you already have a decent array of lenses? It's important that you get a really steady mount, so how about getting a HEQ-5 Pro Synscan / Syntrek 2nd hand, about £500 and just putting your camera on that until you've saved up for a fairly fast refractor doublet (ED80). They are a lot easier to mount and a lot easier to work with.

Before doing anything though I'd get this book:

http://www.firstlightoptics.com/books/making-every-photon-count-steve-richards.html