SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

First attempt of the Double Cluster.

AstroJones

This is our first attempt of the Double Cluster (NGC 869 & 884)

We used a Nikon D3200 and stacked 20 images at 30 seconds of exposure, The ISO was set to 1600.

https://secure.flickr.com/photos/112147206@N05/12109371435/

Opinions please! we think it turned out well for a first attempt but i do think it's a bit red, hopefully the skies stay clear so we can get more images to stack.

Thank's for looking :)

thats alot nicer, need to get rid of the vignetting however, flats will make this a lovely image

great job

Thank's, sorry to ask but how do i take flat frames?? i have seen videos where poeple put shirts over their scopes, is this the correct way or is there another way?

(sorry i'm still new to this) :)

Yeah that could work, just a white t-shirt and the same exposure, focus and temperature as you lights, focus and temperature are CRITICAL with flats else they are rendered useless pretty much!

Hope this helps :)

Cam

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

nice 1st image, star colour is very easy to loose. a Shorter exposure may help preserve star colour, there should be enough color left around the edge of the burnt out disc to re-colour in photoshop. unfortunately its something you have to put up with using a DSLR.

Yeah that could work, just a white t-shirt and the same exposure, focus and temperature as you lights, focus and temperature are CRITICAL with flats else they are rendered useless pretty much!

We will try this out and see if it improves our images, thank's :)

What processing software are you using ? there should be a few orange/yellow stars you may be able to recapture their colour. Nice looking image though, keep up the good work, weather permitting. :)

Dave

Thank's :)

The software we use is, Deep Sky Stacker, and Adobe photoshop. We also have Adobe lightroom but it's a trial.