Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

stargazine_ep28_banner.thumb.jpg.b94278254f44dd38f3f7ee896fe45525.jpg

hi guys firstly I would like the pros and cons of using a dew heater on a reflector scope .

also me being a complete novice , where is the best position to wrap these around the scope ? front or rear by the primary mirror .

may seem like a dumb question but on reading different posts I get the impression that the mirror needs to be at ambient temp or even cooler . putting the dew heater near the mirror would this effect viewing on a cold night ? . many thanks Dave

I have only needed to use a dew heater on the eyepiece and finderscope.  The scope's primary and secondary mirrors are deep inside the scope, especially if you use a dew shield, and don't seem too prone to dew.

Hi Daveyboy.

I'm a complete novice myself although I had a similar experience myself the other night and by the time I went out to view the wonders of the universe everything was so fogged up that I had to come back inside and read the forums.

The basics I got wrong were:

I had the eyepieces outside cooling with the scope, many people speak about keeping them in their pockets when not being used.

I had all the covers off, OTA cover, eyepiece cover and finder scope covers. I have since learned to keep everything covered until you are using it and even cap the finder scope as soon as you are in the area of sky you want.