Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

dew heater question

hi guys firstly I would like the pros and cons of using a dew heater on a reflector scope .

also me being a complete novice , where is the best position to wrap these around the scope ? front or rear by the primary mirror .

may seem like a dumb question but on reading different posts I get the impression that the mirror needs to be at ambient temp or even cooler . putting the dew heater near the mirror would this effect viewing on a cold night ? . many thanks Dave

I have only needed to use a dew heater on the eyepiece and finderscope.  The scope's primary and secondary mirrors are deep inside the scope, especially if you use a dew shield, and don't seem too prone to dew.

Hi Daveyboy.

I'm a complete novice myself although I had a similar experience myself the other night and by the time I went out to view the wonders of the universe everything was so fogged up that I had to come back inside and read the forums.

The basics I got wrong were:

I had the eyepieces outside cooling with the scope, many people speak about keeping them in their pockets when not being used.

I had all the covers off, OTA cover, eyepiece cover and finder scope covers. I have since learned to keep everything covered until you are using it and even cap the finder scope as soon as you are in the area of sky you want.

I pulled out a hair dryer (not my own I should maybe add) and warmed the OTA and it was surprisingly easy to remove the dew. I took the finder scope and eyepieces inside until they cleared and I made a cardboard dew shield for the end of the scope. I left it out for a couple of hours after that (unfortunately by then the clouds had rolled in) and it never fogged up again, whether it was the caps or my cardboard dew shield I don't know but I will experiment in future and I might make a 'proper' dew shield