Narrowband

Unable to view galaxies and deep sky

IIxFUSIONZxMMx

Hello everyone I was wondering if I can get some help and advice please. I am very new to astronomy and purchased a Skywatcher 130p Explorer Goto Telescope. This is the first telescope I have ever had so am not sure on how to set it up and use it properly. I have managed to view the moon and Jupiter and the 4 moons. I am using the stock 2x deluxe barlow lens with 25mm eyepiece then the 10mm eyepiece. I have tried to locate various deep skyobjects i.e galaxies around the plough but cant see anything just the odd star or 2. Can anyone give me some advice on what to get to be able to view these objects. Many thanks

Mark :smiley:  

Skywatcher 130p Explorer GoTo System with stock 2x Deluxe Barlow lens 25mm Eyepiece and 10mm eyepiece.

At the minute, the galaxies around the plough are proving difficult for me too and I'm using a 250p dob. A mixture of bad weather, bad transparency and a very bright moon mean you won't see much just yet. You should be able to catch andromeda before the moon comes up and M42 is still an easy catch.

Start with the easy ones. The ones close to the Plough main stars aren't easy to see until you really get your eye in.

M31 through your 25mm is the first target. Use the bigger V of Cassiopia to point to Andromeda and go from there. This is the biggest brightest galaxy up there.

Then maybe try the Bode's little group M81 & 82 (not far from the plough). Then you'll be set for anything.

Good luck.

Paul

Galaxies are tough with a moon out washing out the sky. You could try M81 and M82 near the plough, they are reasonably bright, but obviously much better with dark skies. Is your scope alighted properly? If so, then it's just the moonlight. Faint galaxies need your eyes to be 'trained' what to look for, you'll get better as you progress. They don't really jump out at you, but they are beautiful!!

Barry