Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Photographer with newbie Astro equipment question??

Hi all, first post and probably a really silly question, but here we go;

I'm an avid wildlife photographer and have some Nikon equipment, including a D800 and various lenses. What I would like to know, is what astrophotography I can expect to do with the equipment I have connected to an Astrotrac on a Gitzo tripod for example, as opposed to having to purchase more dedicated scopes and mounts?

In my ignorance, I was hoping my 14-24mm F2.8 would be good for wide field photography (milky way etc). If so, would my 500mm F4 be useful for DSO, or would I need to purchase more dedicated equipment like a Newtonian or an RC on an EQ6 or something, along with guide scope, camera etc.

Apologies if I have not used the correct terminology. I would like to do both wide field and nebulae, so any advice greatly received.

regards

Definitely you can do something with that. Your 500mm is going to be comparible to the wide-field AP scopes that always get mentioned on here. The wide angle lenses can capture some stunning wide Milkyway shots.

I'd say, give it a go. You can put the camera on an EQ mount if you wanted to get something upgradable to use with a telescope tube later...

I was in the same position as yourself about 18 months ago. I bought an AstroTrac and have been hooked ever since.

For your 500mm you would benefit hugely from the AstroTrac wedge, I'd rather get one than spend any money on the Manfrotto 410 geared head...unless you already have something else suitable for aligning everything.

I used my Wimberly gimbal head on top of the AstroTrac though some targets at zenith are impossible to frame using it.

However if portability isn't necessary I'd investigate an HEQ5 equatorial mount.

All my images in my gallery have been taken with AstroTrac and various lenses...no telescopes here :)