Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Heads up! Another big sunspot on the way?

JB80

A HUGE spot coming nicely into view in the latest SDO images :laugh: :laugh:

I think I will be clouded out today, but hope to see this big 'un tomorrow :cool:  I imagine Steve will be busy optimizing his new white light scope, testing it on birds in trees. etc. :p

Yes! New solar scope should arrive Monday to start getting a good look of this.

Excuse my ignorance but how long does it take for us to see a sunspot move across the disc face assuming we can't see it at highly tangential angles. Also do they disappear before moving across whole disc (I guess they are very active). I am new to this solar stuff!

Yes! New solar scope should arrive Monday to start getting a good look of this.

Excuse my ignorance but how long does it take for us to see a sunspot move across the disc face assuming we can't see it at highly tangential angles. Also do they disappear before moving across whole disc (I guess they are very active). I am new to this solar stuff!

No need to excuse yourself, they are good questions.

Sunspots can move at different speeds so there is no set rule, well kind of, they move faster closer to the equator than they do further out on the disc. Normally and I'm guessing here but you have maybe a week for it to travel across.

One of the things you can do is chart the spots movement in grids across the sun and record them, I'm not sure if you can submit the data anywhere though.

And yes they can disappear in a matter of hours but then others can last for 100 days.

It's all quite fascinating.

I managed to catch a break in the clouds to get a few snaps so we'll see what I got a bit later.

They take about 12 days to rotate across the disk if they are around the equator (a bit longer if they are further north or south). They can appear and disappear, and change, quite quickly - impossible to predict! That's what makes solar so interesting!

Helen