Narrowband

Hello from Warwickshire

New Star Gazers

Hello,

Just wanted to introduce ourselves to everyone, we are collectively as a family venturing into the unknown yet exciting depths of Astronomy. There are five of us in total. My husband and I, and our three young children ages 7, 5 and 2. I will have to admit we are complete novices, however we have always been interested in the subject and as the children are learning more at school and becoming more inquisitive in how the universe works around us we thought we would take a big leap forward. 

Look forward to talking to you all...

xx

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi to you all, and welcome to the lounge,

I think it's wonderful when the whole family gets involved,

especially the children, you will need more than one scope

when the observing begins.

Good Luck and Clear Sky's

Welcome to the group.

Some of the best advice I was given on here for a beginner , if you haven't found it yet, is to download 'Stellarium' for your computer and start clicking on the various options on the screen to find your way around the skies. If you also have an android device, 'Sky Map' is very similar, and portable. Both these programmes are free.

Welcome to the group.

Some of the best advice I was given on here for a beginner , if you haven't found it yet, is to download 'Stellarium' for your computer and start clicking on the various options on the screen to find your way around the skies. If you also have an android device, 'Sky Map' is very similar, and portable. Both these programmes are free.

Thank you, that is great we will definitely download those.

And yes Ron, I think it will be wonderful for the children to be involved. 

Claire

hello , im down the road (Redditch) welcome to the forums . :grin: