Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Total beginner needs some purchasing advice

Hi all; My father and I recently decided to take up astronomy, having been interested in it for a long time. Unfortunately, the maximum we can really afford to spend right now is £70-80, at least until late summer/autumn when we may have a bit more cash floating around. Going on the assumption that any telescope in that price range will probably be fairly mediocre, we're looking for some decent binoculars; better to have a good pair of bins than a trashy, cheap scope, right?

Now, neither of us know a whole lot about astronomy equipment, binoculars, telescopes, or, indeed, anything else, but we've found a couple of likely options:

Celestron Skymaster 15x70

Celestron Skymaster 25x70

Both seem to be pretty good options, as far as we can tell, but we're not entirely sure which one to get; we don't mind spending a bit extra for the more expensive 25x70, but we'd rather get the most suitable one. Our immediate assumption is that the 25x will be the better bet for astronomy, partly because it received very positive reviews but mostly, if I'm entirely honest, because it has a bigger number, and is therefore obviously better in every single way.

That logic, however, rarely works out, so I thought it best to ask. Will there be any appreciable drop in viewing quality with the 25's compared to the 15's? I would imagine that increasing the magnification while keeping the same size lens would mean less light, relatively speaking, and presumably a grainier image? But on the other hand, presumably, higher magnification will mean better views of more distant objects. We'd like to be able to observe the moon and planets, but we're mostly interested in star clusters, nebulae, etc, so I'm fairly certain that we want the 25x. But, again, our knowledge is small bordering on non-existent, so I'll put the question to you wise folk.