Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

First attempt at stacking the moon

Christopher Davenport

Hi all

This is my first attempt at imaging the moon with my QH5l (Planetary Webcam)

I took about 2000 raw frames at 14bit through my 80ED with a 0.5FR (to get the moon into the frame)

I have stacked at 25% in AS!2 and done minimal wavelets and RGBautoalign in Registax.

I have played a bit with the gamma and midtones via filters to try to even out the brightness.

gallery_32740_2960_32060.jpg

Rotated moon and placed against a black background and reduced the size for this forum.

Any advice as how to reduce the bright spots without loosing the detail.

Or is this what it is supposed to look like?

Im no expert but i always try to under expose the Moon when its bright by shooting it at much lower ISO settings but i use a DSLR so not sure about your planetary cam. 

Very good for your first attempt tho!

have you had a play with the colour curves in Photoshop?

Hi Christopher, 

It looks quite nice to me. Just wondering what capture software you used with the qhy5?

Scott

I used EZplanatery for qhy, very temperamental but once you get used to it, allows for squeezing the most out of the cam.

See my blog post on Jupiter preparation in my Sig on how to up the frame rates.

Im no expert but i always try to under expose the Moon when its bright by shooting it at much lower ISO settings but i use a DSLR so not sure about your planetary cam. 

Very good for your first attempt tho!

have you had a play with the colour curves in Photoshop?

Not taken this image into ps5, still trying to get to grips with ps5 to be honest.

Could you explain what to do with colour curves

I use PS Elements but all you do with colour curves is adjust the slider bars in small amounts and it will lighten or darken certain areas of the surface. You just keep doing small adjustments and click ok then do it again and keep going until you happy with the image.