Narrowband

new here and would welcome a view on potential first scope

Hello all.

I am new to the forum and would welcome some advice on a first telescope.

I have been looking for a not very expensive first scope that is simple to use and portable. Initially i want to find my way around the sky and look at the moon and planets. Longer term i would like to do some astro photography but appreciate that a beginners scope may not be suitable.

I am considering the Skywatcher Heritage 130 flexitube as it is not too expensive and looks easy to use for a beginner. I am hoping to join my local astro club to get some help and try some photography, but want to learn for myself as well.

Any thoughts on the Skywatcher, and any pssible alternatives? Would the Skywatcher allow me to attach my Canon DSLR to it?

Any help and advice gratefully recieved.

Andrew.

Hi Andyb505,

Welcome to SGL!!! Great guys and gals on here and they will certainly show you the options. I'm a newbie too and they have helped me loads :)

What kind of budget are you looking at so we can get a feel for your limits? Obviously the further you can push it the better the kit.

I have just got the SW 150P Pro Goto and I can honestly say so far I am well impressed! Looks complicated but seriously, if I can use it, anyone can. ;) The setup with the EQ mount takes a bit of headscratching for a newbie but once figured out is a breeze. I plumped for this because although the Dob mount is easier for a beginner, I could not guarentee I wouldn't want to try a bit of AP in the not too distant.

Sue