Narrowband

Some thoughts as I wait for my scope to arrive...

Hello all - I'm a newbie to telescopes but a longtime lover of all things astronomy.  My fiancée and I have bought a Skywatcher Heritage 130p (thanks in no small part to the advice I found on these very pages when I was Googling for reviews/advice, etc. - thanks!) and we're just waiting for it to arrive in the post. 

I have been reading up on how best to start stargazing and what gear is best to begin with; aside from the scope itself, would you recommend anything else?  Would a copy of Turn Left at Orion or Philip's Stargazing 2014 help us as complete beginners to the hobby?  I have the Google Sky Map app on my Android phone which I would imagine would come in handy, but I'm not sure whether it'll actually assist me get to grips with the whole experience.

I've also been reading masses of information and opinions about Barlow lenses and supplementary eyepieces for the scope (the Heritage comes with 10mm and 25mm eyepieces); would it be worth my while investing in a 2x Barlow or a 6.5mm eyepiece as well, for example?

Or alternatively, would it just be best to wait patiently (never was my strongest point...) until the scope arrives and try it out on our own with a few bottles of red wine and big coats on some night, and see how we get on unaided?

If anyone can throw out some thoughts on these questions it would be much appreciated.  Best wishes from chilly Ireland!

Réaltóg

Hello all - I'm a newbie to telescopes but a longtime lover of all things astronomy.  My fiancée and I have bought a Skywatcher Heritage 130p (thanks in no small part to the advice I found on these very pages when I was Googling for reviews/advice, etc. - thanks!) and we're just waiting for it to arrive in the post.