Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

PlanetGazer

What's wrong with my red dot finder?

The question should be what's wrong with me, rather! ... Every time I point at an object with my red dot finder, I find the object to be on the top left corner from where it should be. I tried to play with the adjustments circles on the sides of the dot finder but didn't find a difference.  

I'm still a beginner so take it easy when you read the question :D 

Thanks

I'm guessing it's not aligned yet. are you saying when you centre an object, initially at low power, and then adjust the circles on the red dot finder, it makes no difference? If so there is a big problem. If you centre your target in the eyepiece at low power, then adjust the finder to centre the object, it should be there. The only thing to watch is that it doesn't take you ages to centre it in the finder as the object will have drifted. Try to do it reasonably quickly. Can your finder be adjusted by hand or does it need an Allen key like one that came with one of my scope, and subsequently was stuck in the box marked 'Bits'

What finder have you? If you don't mind me asking

Barry

• Like 1