Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Astrophotography

Jon Pearce

Hi Boys and girls,

I am a total newbiee.  Parents have bought me a Sky Watcher BK1309 EQ2 for Christmas, im really keen to get my Sony DSLR camera hooked up to it.  A few questions if I may, firstly is this possible to do with this telescope? and secondly what are the parts I will need to make this happen?

Thanking you all in advance.

Speak soon

Jon

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello and welcome to SGL.

There's a big section on Astrophotography on the SGL website that will be a great source of info for your new hobby.

Astrophotography is a complicated and expensive business and although some form of photography is possible with any 'scope your expectations and the size of your wallet will determine how happy you are with the end results.

Cheers

Welcome to SGL Jon from a fellow imager.

AP is an 'interesting' hobby with many facets. Have a look on the imaging forum and be realistic about the sorts of images you ultimately want to achieve and then look at the kit the imager used to get this. It will give you a good idea of where you may want to go in the future. If you want to work towards top class images then you will have to be prepared to work at it, certainly financially.

If you decide that you really do want to move with the imaging, get a copy of the book Making Every Photon Count, it will really make things clear without frightening you off ............. hopefully!!

Look forward to seeing around :smiley: