SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

My first rosette!

davesparx

Hi there,

This is my first attempt at the Rosette. I did 5 *200secs lights and 5 * 200s darks with a canon 1100d with filter removed and a CLS-CCD clip filter in.

I used an ED-80 without the focal reducer on an NEQ6.

I'm really pleased with this but wish that I'd fitted the focal reducer before the guiding went bad!

This is processed and slightly enhanced, as you can see.

David

post-19599-0-92649500-1388485585_thumb.j

Darks are images of the fixed pattern noise in your camera. They won't be dark, they'll be spattered with pixels of varying degrees of brightness. Say one pixel on your dark, which should read zero brightness, actually records a brightness of 1,732. When the dark is subtracted from the light (the image of the Rosette) that value of 1,732 will be subtracted from whatever was recorded in the image, so giving the image the correct value. Clever!

Now not all the noise in your camera is fixed. Some is random. A pixel which should record 42,765 on the Rosette will sometimes randomly record a higher value and sometimes a lower one. If you average the values recorded in multiple images these random mistakes will average out to almost nothing and you'll get a cleaner and more accurate picture. The need to take multiple images applies to every image you take in your camera. Lights, darks, bias (if you need them) and flats should all be multiples, stacked and averaged.

Your Rosette (a very good debut) needs colour balancing. Red is too high. We know this because the background itself is magenta/red.

If you have Photoshop or similar you can look at the histogram in each channel. The top left of the peaks should be roughly aligned.

levels%20aligning-L.jpg