First night out

So tonight was my very first time viewing the sky through a scope and it blew me away!! Jupiter had way more detail than I ever imagined my first attempt would produce and although it was faint, actually seeing the Orion Nebula with my own eyes was pretty amazing.

I'm a bit gutted that there is the worlds brightest lamppost to the southwest of my garden, can see this becoming my nemesis over the coming years. Because of this my eyes never really adjusted fully to the dark and as I'm new to this I don't know how much I'm missing!!

Are there any filters you can recommend that will help fight some of the light pollution and hopefully bring out a bit more detail in DSO's.

Also I would be interested to know of any accessories that once owned, you couldn't be without? What, in your opinion are the must-haves??

Rik :)

We all have our own views on accessories, I personally share the worlds brightest lamp post with you andcsuffer similarly. I have got a uhc filter for nebulas and find this helps a lot.

I note your lamp post is sw, tbh although its a pain, you should be able to work round that for evening viewing as most objects wil be east to south. Is it feasable to try and erect some kind of shield?

Look in the astro club society section of this forum and se if thier is anyone local to you that you could go along and chat with, you would find this very helpful

steve

Hi Rik,

Glad you enjoyed your first night with your new scope.

To keep stray light from your eyes you could try what I do and put a thick towel over your head, looks weird but who's going to see in your own back garden.

As Steve says accessories are personal choices, it does depend on your scope and viewing preferences. One thing that most would recommend is a comfy seat.

Good luck and have fun.

Thanks for your suggestions guys,