Narrowband

Celestron Astromaster 130EQ + laptop

Hi there guys, this will be my first post so please be patient with me bow.gif

I've discovered that my partner has got me a Celestron Astromaster 130EQ for Christmas. This will be my first ever telescope and I have never used a telescope before just showed an interest in astronomy due to some fascinating documentaries out there.

Now I know this is a beginners Telescope which is great for me for now as I need to learn from the ground up and be sure my enthusiasm isn't just a flash in the pan.

I live in the UK, central London which I hear isn't great for viewing the night sky.

Well I have just a couple of questions:

1) Is it possible to connect a digital Camera, Iphone or Laptop to the Celestron Astromaster 130EQ to take pictures ?

2) Are there any must have I should make sure I purchase to compliment and achieve great results when using the telescope?

3) Are you able to punch in coordinates on this particular  telescope to pinpoint the target object ?

4) If anyone has this telescope, could you post any photo if possible to show what images the telescope is capable of taking?

Thanks

Hi Sony007, to be honest I think your best route would be a webcam for pictures of the moon and possibly planets, but your first priority should be visual astronomy so that you can get used to using the telescope, especially in light-polluted skies.  You cannot punch in co-ordinates to this telescope, that is the reserve of GOTO type computerised telescopes, which the Astromaster 130EQ is not I am afraid.

Hello there Brown Dwarf and thanks for the quick reply.

Yes I agree, I need to learn the basics first before jumping in the the (deeper) end so to speak.  Is it going to be alot more challenging locating targets without a 'GOTO TYPE COMPUTERISED' telescope?