Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Lovejoy or wishful thinking?

Hi,

the early evening sky was much clearer tonight so I set up and started gawping around for Lovejoy.

Just being a novice, I am still finding my way around the sky. I went from Venus up to Altair and then Vega. From there I went to the keystone of Hercules. I was looking almost due West, but a few degrees north of that. (I wish I'd taken note of the declination and RA)

From the star at the bottom (most Northerly) corner of the keystone, I looked down to the west and a touch south so that I was about half way between the two lowest stars of the keystone and saw a fuzzy blob. My blob was much dimmer than the keystone stars.

There was no green colour as such and no tail but then again by the time I found my unidentified circular blob, it was getting closer to the horizon and the sky was distinctly hazy there.I know its supposed to be around there somewhere and couldn't see anything else other than what were plainly stars. though there was haze and even the stars were not as sharp as they should have been, they were distinctly less fuzzy than this object.

Sorry about the lack of proper astonomical terms! Was this lovejoy or is there something else I could have been looking at in that area?

I was using x36 magnification and the telescope is a skywatcher 130 F7 Newtonian, if that helps all of the experts out there to know what I could have seen in that part of the sky.

If I know i'm in the right place, I'll get back to it much quicker the next time i get a chance.

Yep that's comet Lovejoy, well spotted !

Been very good before dawn. This morning it was below the two base stars of Hercules. Lovely tail and bright nucleus at x48, bit more detail at x80. Visible as a fuzzy in x8 binoculars.this was a couple of days ago,post-6974-0-20296500-1387312893_thumb.jp

Nick.

thanks a lot nick!