Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

HELP! Newbie. Blurry view in eyepiece for Celestron Astromaster 130EQ Telescope?

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the board here. Great site!

I'm also new to this whole thing. I just got my new first telescope and it is the Celestron Astromaster 130EQ.  I had followed all the steps in setting up the telescope. I hope I've done nothing wrong in setting it up.

I've came into a disappointment after trying to view in all of the provided eyepieces because everything came out blurry!

Can someone please help me out? I'm very confused and frustrated.

Much appreciated. Thanks in advance for your help!

• Like 1

this will sound silly but i take it you have focused the eyepiece, i ask because this has come up before, im guessing you have the 10mm and 25mm eyepiece, try inserting the 25mm and getting that to focus first

• Like 1

this will sound silly but i take it you have focused the eyepiece, i ask because this has come up before, im guessing you have the 10mm and 25mm eyepiece, try inserting the 25mm and getting that to focus first

H nightfisher,

Thanks for replying and trying to help me out.  Yes, I have focused the eyepiece but still get a blurry view. 

Any other ideas on solutions on how to fix this problem?

How blurry are the images? Can you make out stars or the moon? Maybe your mirrors aren't lined up properly. If you don't have a collimator try making a collimation cap out of a hairspray lid or 35mm film case if you have one. Then you can get a rough idea of how good/bad your mirrors are.

• Like 1

Hi There, welcome to the forum!

When you try to focus, does the image appear to be getting sharper but just doesnt reach focus or is it just always blurry? Or does it appear to get sharp then just begin to blur again as you adjust the focuser?

What were you looking at? was it a star or a planet or the moon, or just everything you tried to look at was blurry?