SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

A noob in need

Hi

I am just starting out and I have read good things about Skywatcher telescopes so i'd take the plunge and spend around £200, all I am really after is a scoper that can produce a pretty clear image and last a while so that I don't want to rush out an but another scope incurring even more cost.

I am going to list a few links if that's ok with a few thoughts and I hope I am on the right track.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Skywatcher-Explorer-Newton-Telescope-Parabolic/dp/B00CYHSZCC/ref=sr_1_99?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1386761431&sr=1-99&keywords=skywatcher

Looks like a good scope but am I right in thinking that the 130P is sharper as it is parabolic

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Skywatcher-Explorer-Newtonian-Reflector-Telescope/dp/B002ED1XMK/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1386761536&sr=1-1&keywords=skywatcher+130p

This is the P I was reffering to

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Skywatcher-SKYLINER-150P-PARABOLIC-DOBSONIAN-TELESCOPE/dp/B005KBR5P2/ref=pd_sxp_f_pt

And a 150P which I would assume is better but I am a bit stumped as to why, and was wondering how tall the stand is (does it need to sit on a table) or can

a tripod be used but that would incur more cost so is this a bit pointless.

Thanks for any advice.

(hope the links are ok to post) :/

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Really the 150P is the better - if and only if the intention is visual only!

If you secretely have idea of imaging at all then the dobsonian is not the scope to go for.

So first be honest with yourself and decide that.

The 150P should be fine for height, at 150 and f/8 that makes 1.2 meters so that will be more or less where the eyepiece sits. For low objects you will have to bend over a little - comes with the design.

The 150P on the dobsonian is the slower variant of the 150P - used to be 150P and 150PL (L=Long (not very imaginative)).