Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

New to Telescopes

Hi, I am new to telescopes and stargazing. Can anybody tell me what type of telescope is best to look at the planets and some deep space. I have been looking at the Meade brand, motorised reflecters. It seems a great idea that the telescope will find objects in space for me. As always value for money is paramount (so the wife says). Anyway if anybody can offer advice it will be greatly received.

Simon

Hi sim1179 and welcome.

It really depends on your budget and what you want to do

with the scope like will you just be wanting to observe or

will you be wanting to do astro imaging too.

Let us know then we could really give you some proper advice.

Welcome sim1179,

As Jamie says give us an idea of your budget, what your sky is like (ie Light pollution).

If you have to travel a bit to a dark site , then portability is a factor when you start. There are some nice small refractors on the market at the moment.

If you are lucky and live in a dark area then consider a Dobsonian scope (Light bucket) These are large, manual guiding scopes, which are excellent value and give superb views of the night sky.

If you look at purchasing a GOTO scope (Meade etc) then you will pay a considerable ammount for the electronic guiding of the scope. I have a small GOTO scope which I now use for wide field views.

Considering the price you pay for a decent GOTO scope you could buy a a medium size Newtonian (Good all round scope) on a stable mount and a small refrator for the same money and have some change left over for some star maps!!

Greg

Hi, could you give me some idea of brand/make or supplier (I have looked at Sherwoods site) that are the best optics for the money regarding the comment below. I have looked on Ebay, there are hundreds of scopes for sale but are they any good, am I better buying from a reputable dealer?