Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What gets you excited?

Fypunky

As a complete and totaly experienced astronomy expert (in my daughters eyes!) 

As a complete and total newbie in your eyes and mine, what gets you excited when looking up?

Is it nebula, is it galaxy's, star clusters or the planet's?

I was pondering this as I was laid back on the sun chair ( now observing platform) looking up at andromeda last night. Pleiades in my eyes is majestic, almost mystical and always spend some time looking at it before I go up the wooden hill to bed.

However having said that I still find Andromeda the more exciting object up there, the thought of all those stars and planets and the fact we will as I believe one day collide with it.

At the moment we are using 10x50 bins which is not giving us all the possibilities of viewing exciting stuff that is out there. I know when we set the new telescope that we have bought little legs for crimbo the moon will get a lot of attention (had a sneeky look when she was at school and set it up), I have always been a little curios with our neighbour.

So what is up there that warms the cockles most when you first set your eyes on the object you are looking at?

i've started to realise we are lucky to have the night sky we do - not every solar system would have a Saturn

or a Jupiter to look at or even something as bright as Venus so close by and there will be a point in the far distant future when
u won't be able to see other galaxies because of the expansion of the universe, so just knowing we are alive when the universe is still relatively young and pregnant with possibility is exciting i think. Plus there are still many mysteries to solve eg dark matter and dark energy.