Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_globular_clusters_winners.thumb.jpg.13b743f39f721323cb5d76f07724c489.jpg

LeeWilky

Skywatcher Explorer 200p on eq5 advice

Hi all.

Im a total noob to astronomy and i recently purchased a Skywatcher Explorer 200p on an EQ5 mount and was looking for some advice on using it.

I just set it up and aligned the tripod to the north and had a play at trying to look in various directions and found that sometimes the viewing angle was extremely uncomfortable especially for high angle targets and looking at things to the south.  Am i doing something wrong?  With the tripod aligned North if i wish to look at something in the South the viewfinder is just at a ridiculous angle and very hard to use.  The last telescope i had was an old refractor on a swivel base and this was very simple to look at targets in any direction but this thing just seems incredibly awkward.

Thankyou in advance.

Lee

So it is part of the design and not me being a silly person lol!  Thanks mate ill knock some of these up.

You can rotate the tube in the tube rings - but be careful not to let the tube slip and ruin the balance.  After a while you find a position that suits most observing (unless you tend to view things all over the sky in one session!).  Even so you may find a small 2-step ladder useful as stretching to the eyepiece becomes very uncomfortable after a surprisingly short time. 

You can also set the tripod at the most favourable height for comfort (but not too low or the scope may hit the ground!).