Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

How do I clean my 114 mm reflector mirror?

Hi Everyone,

I am fairly new to all of this but am having so much fun.  Saw the double cluster last night for the first time, it was amazing!  I have a 114 mm Celestron reflector.

After last nights viewing I noticed that my primary mirror looks dirty. It looks spotted like water drops that dried on it or something .(perhaps from condensation after coming in from the cold MInnesota night?)  I don't think it was there before. It doesn't seem to affect my viewing but maybe it is.

How do I clean the mirror and with what?  Do I have to remove the mirror and if so how? I am assuming Windex is not the way to go. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. 

General consensus is leave it until it really is filthy. You're more likely to damage/scratch the mirror through regular cleaning, and it would be more detrimental to the view and life of your optics than a few water marks/dust etc. My primary is far from spotless at the moment, but it has made no noticeable difference to the view I get at the EP.

Hi Everyone,

I am fairly new to all of this but am having so much fun.  Saw the double cluster last night for the first time, it was amazing!  I have a 114 mm Celestron reflector.

After last nights viewing I noticed that my primary mirror looks dirty. It looks spotted like water drops that dried on it or something .(perhaps from condensation after coming in from the cold MInnesota night?)  I don't think it was there before. It doesn't seem to affect my viewing but maybe it is.

How do I clean the mirror and with what?  Do I have to remove the mirror and if so how? I am assuming Windex is not the way to go. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.