Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

100° Eyepieces, EQ mounts and standard focusers.

spaceboy

Hi All

I was just wondering with the increasing amount of people using 100° eyepieces how people have got on with using the given what is in most cases a great deal more weight and length than the run of the mill EP's.

While I'm directing this question more so towards EQ users because of the focuser on occasions ending up in gravity unfriendly directions during slewing it is also open for discussion to dob / AZ owners as I also question what peoples views are on focusers and their ability to hold such a lump of glass.

I am new to the 100° club and have an after market focuser although based on the standard Crayford design and no where near the build of moonlite or some of the better R&P out there. As I chose the 100° EP just for low power observing I can remove the EP every time I GOTO with no real hard ship but I am tinkering with the idea of going for a medium power which this could well become a chore (sore eyes and irritable due to lack of sleep) to remove every time I slew to an object so I was thinking it may just be better to stick to my 82° EP's which are less than half the weight of the 100° alternative.

What's the views from those already hardened to the 100 degree club?

With some judicial tightening of the friction I've found all my focusers able to cope with even the ES 20mm / 100 and the Nagler 31 eyepieces. MY Vixen refractor has a decade old (but nice) rack and pinion focuser and my 12" dob has an older Chinese made single speed crayford. I don't use EQ mounts so I can't comment on those. My ED120 has a Moonlite on it now and that seems to cope with virtually anything.