sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_31.thumb.jpg.b7a41d6a0fa4e315f57ea3e240acf140.jpg

help for a complete beginner!

First up I've recently bought myself a Celestron Astromaster 130. I've got no star gazing experience and know very little about the night sky, although am keen to learn!

I'm not aure what I should/shouldn't be able to see using my scope. I've looked at the moon a couple of times and tonight I've been searching for Jupiter. I managed to take a couple of photos down the eyepiece using my mobile phone which I'll try and put up here.

What I thought was Jupiter appeared to have a few stars around it, which I'm guessing were the moons, but it appeared to be quite small.....maybe I just expected more!

Could someone advise whether Jupiter would be quite small for me on my scope?

Any advise on what I should be doing or looking for would be greatly appreciated,

Cheers!

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Hi Shavy, welcome to the forum. A great post to read would be this one to give you an idea also you could use Stellarium (FREE) and input your telescope and eyepieces in the optics section or input yo

I will go a bit stronger and say a 4mm eyepiece will be of very likely no use to you at all. Always seems a good idea, but the reality is they are not worth it. Been there and done that. Gave my last

49 quid for these are a great deal , the same eyepiece rebranded elsewhere are known to retail at double this. Although it's e bay. , the seller ( skies the limit / skies unlimited) has a reputation

Welcome to SGL.

The 130 is a popular 'scope and you should get some good views through it. But and it is a big BUT do not expect to see the planets as huge orbs with great maases of colouring. That is acheived by multiple exposures and stackiing. Trying to point a mobile down the eye piece by hand is never easy. It needs to be mounted.